A Whole New World – Navigating Change

tiv258vg3n

For me, 2017 started off with change. Not just because the surnumber of the year had switched from 6 to 7 but because, for the first time in 10 years, I would have only one job.

10 years ago I was in a pretty dim situation. Having just learned how to control my anxiety – which, at one point, kept me literally house bound – I was working on paying off debts I had built up while trying to get on my feet. Foolishly I had used my credit cards as my income for several months while I tried to find work and I had a crushing weight of debt on my shoulders.

I remember sitting in my room and crunching the numbers and realizing if I kept paying my credit cards as I was doing I wouldn’t pay them off for 20+ years. I knew I had to do something. I got a loan to amalgamate the credit cards into one set loan (with a set payoff date) and got a second job. Actually, at that point, I got two other jobs.

What followed was 10 years of blur and work. 10 years of no more than one day off a week except on special occasions. 10 years of 60 hour work weeks. 10 years of no vacations (except the odd 4 or 5 day vacation every other year). In those 10 years I paid off that initial debt, bought my own home, discovered new debt in home renovations, and finally paid off that debt too.

I am now almost completely debt free (save for a small credit card I maintain with strict discipline).

Things change, as they’re prone to doing. My day job ceased to exist at the end of 2016 and as of 2017 I am a 40 hour a week girl.

I almost don’t know what to do. January was spent sleeping, a lot, and just sitting in my house and cherishing my free time.

But, January is over and life has to go on.

February started with me purchasing a $25 computer which will be my ‘work’ computer. Previously I did all my writing at the library, at the work computer during breaks or on my laptop but I know I need something more structured because my brain is easily distracted. I’ve carved out an office corner in my house and I am ready to get down to the nitty gritty.

My action plan is to publish two or three novels this year. We’ll see how that goes. I still need to find an editor (my current editor won’t edit the upcoming pieces due to content).

My goal for 2017 is to write no less than 1500 a day, every day.

Life has a habit of changing. Sometimes those changes are good, sometimes bad and sometimes they’re just neutral.

This time this change has been good and I’m glad for it.

2017! Here I come.

One thought on “A Whole New World – Navigating Change

  1. Wow! You plan your life at quite a pace. I applaud all your determination and hard work of the past decade and wish you all the best with your hopes and dreams and endeavours in the next. Try to take some time just to ‘be’, too. That’s the advice I would give my younger self. Life happens in the ‘being’, not the ‘doing’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

